University Senate Summary  Last Updated July 29, 2009

  University Senate Membership    
  50 members   University Policy
  The Provost (Chief Academic Officer) and University President each hold ex officio non-voting positions on the University Senate   A policy is a statement of record that governs the conduct of the university community and/or embodies a general principle that guides university affairs
  48 Voting Members   Three Flavors of University Policy 
37 Elected Faculty Senators   Academic Policy
4 Selected Staff Senators   Non-Academic Policy for Students
2 Selected Student Senators   Institutional Policy
5 Presidential Appointees    
  University Senate Functions    
  Faculty governance body with university-wide membership   University Senate Committees
  * Not adopt regulations or curricula within the scope of an academic unit (school, library) unless protecting interests of University as a whole   ECUS Executive Committee 
has two functions
* steering committee of Univ Senate
* faculty advisory to the Univ President
  * Has Faculty Legislative Authority   SAPC (Student Affairs) 
  * Policy-Recommending Assembly   RPIPC (Resources, Planning,
  * Advisory Role (policy/procedure)   and Institutional Policy) 
  The University Senate strives to be mindful and respectful of matters that are more appropriately handled at the divisional, college and department levels, but may make recommendations concerning matters within these areas that have broader institutional impact or implications.   Committees for Academic Policy
CAPC (Curriculum and Assessment)
FAPC (Faculty Affairs)
APC (Academic Policy Committee)
Each has 13 members
11 Corps of Instruction Faculty
1 VP Academic Affairs Designee
1 Presidential Appointee