# **2013-2014 Elected Faculty Senator Election Procedures**

## **COLLEGE OF ARTS & SCIENCES**

**TO:** Executive Committee of the Senate **FROM:** Kenneth J. Procter, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences **SUBJECT:** Senate Apportionment and Election Procedures

Once the College of Arts and Sciences is notified of the number of senate seats apportioned for the College, the seats are allocated to the departments. First, a single senate seat is allocated to each department. The departments are ranked from largest to smallest based on the number of Core of Instruction within the department. An additional seat is allocated to the departments starting from the largest to the smallest until the remaining seats are allocated. Departments elect the required number of senators based on that apportionment. Each individual department holds its own election based on its departmental procedures.

## J. WHITNEY BUNTING COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

To: Executive Committee of the Senate From: Catherine Whelan, Interim Associate Dean, College of Business Subject: Senator Elections and Apportionment

The College of Business currently appoints one senate seat per department for our five senate seats. Individual departments elect a senator. The outcome of the departmental election is reported back to the rest of the faculty in the College of Business via email and in the spring CoB Faculty Meeting.

From CoB By-Laws: ELECTION OF SENATORS - The College of Business is apportioned senate seats by the University Senate. The assignment of those seats across the college is made by the Strategic Management Committee.

## JOHN H. LOUNSBURY COLLEGE OF EDUCATION

For the 2013-2014 academic year, CoE Senators will be chosen based on the former departmental structure. Each of the former departments will nominate and elect one Senator to represent the department while the remaining Senator(s) is (are) elected by CoE at-large. As vacancies come the nominations will be solicited from the former department (if the slot is departmental) or from the Dean's Advisory Committee (if the slot is an at-large position).

Nominations will be presented to the faculty at the January CoE meeting. Nominations from the floor will also be accepted, as long as they conform to the departmental or at-large requirements.

Voting by Corps of Instruction faculty through secret ballot will be conducted by the Dean's Advisory Committee if there are multiple nominations for the same slot or if two at-large slots are vacant and there are more than two nominees. If there is a single nomination for a slot, vote by acclamation will be allowed.

## LIBRARY

The Chair of the Libraries's Nominating Committee will ask all eligible Library's faculty members if they are willing to serve on the University Senate. The names of eligible Library faculty who wish to serve will be placed on a secret ballot distributed to all Library faculty members by Monday, January, 13 2013. The following Thursday the votes will be counted by the Chair of the Nominating Committee, and the candidate receiving the greatest number of votes will be the new Senator for the Library.



Office of the Dean College of Health Sciences

131 M. Parks Memorial Bldg. CBX 64 Georgia College & State University Campus Box 64 Milledgeville, GA 31061 Office (478) 445-4092

### Memorandum

 Date:
 December 2, 2013

 To:
 Dr. Lyndall Muschell, Chair

 GCSU University Senate
 Sundar K. Gangstead, Dean

 From:
 Dr. Sandra K. Gangstead, Dean

 College of Health Sciences
 College of Health Sciences

 C:
 Susan Steele, COHS University Senate Representative

 Re:
 University Senate Nomination/Election Procedure for the College of Health Sciences December 2, 2013

The following procedure will be used for the elections of Senators for the College of Health Sciences.

- 1. After determining the number of Senators to be elected for the COHS per apportionment for academic unit; a general announcement will be made at the Fall COHS Business meeting to inform the faculties about the upcoming election.
- 2. The Dean's office will compile a list of eligible faculty.
- 3. All faculties on the list will be asked if they are willing to serve.
- 4. A ballot will be compiled of all eligible faculties who indicated that they are willing to serve.
- 5. Email notification of ballot web link will be sent to the COHS list serve with specific deadlines and dates.

#### <u>Eligibility List</u>

Hirsch Jude Jarriel Amanda Keith Douglas R. Lidstone Jim Lyles Randall Malachowski Judith M. Martino Mike Massey Kelly Mercado Chesley Sigmon Raatz JoAnne Robinson Vicky Sapp Carol T. Sewell Jeanne Winn Sheryl