2012-2013 Elected Faculty Senator (EFS) Elections Fact Sheet

Drafted 02 October 2012 by Lyndall Muschell and Craig Turner

WHICH ELECTED FACULTY SENATORS HAVE TERMS OF SERVICE THAT END IN APRIL 2013?

Academic Unit	Responsibility for Elections	Elected Faculty Senators With a Term of Service Ending in April 2013
At-Large	Executive Committee	Kirk Armstrong
CoAS	CoAS Dean	Beauty Bragg, Ryan Brown, Jan Clark, Mary Magoulick, Ken McGill, Amy Pinney, Mike Rose, Chris Skelton
СоВ	CoB Dean	Bryan Marshall
CoE	CoE Dean	Brian Mumma
CoHS	CoHS Dean	Dianne Chamblee
Library	University Librarian	None to Replace

WHICH ELECTED FACULTY SENATORS CONTINUE TO SERVE ON THE UNIVERSITY SENATE?

At-Large	Scott Butler (2014), Julia Metzker (2015)	
	Andrei Barkovski (2015), Carrie Cook (2014), David de Posada (2014), Maureen Horgan (2015), Macon McGinley (2014), Micheal Murphy (2015), Jason Rich (2014), Amy Sumpter (2015), Craig Turner (2015)	
СоВ	William Miller (2015), Doreen Sams (2014), John Swinton (2015), Catherine Whelan (2014)	
CoE	Cara Meade (2014), Lyndall Muschell (2015), Holley Roberts (2014), Stephen Wills (2015)	
CoHS	Amanda Jarriel (2015), Deborah MacMillan (2014), Leslie Moore (2014), Susan Steele (2014)	
Library	Ben Davis (2015), Josh Kitchens (2014)	

WHAT ARE THE UNIVERSITY SENATE BYLAWS REQUIREMENTS ON THE ELECTION PROCESS?

1. The **term of service** for an elected faculty senator shall be three years and begin with the call to order of the spring organizational meeting of the University Senate and continue until her/his successor assumes office.

2. The eligibility requirements for an elected faculty senator are

- a. membership in the Corps of Instruction and
- b. the completion of at least two years of service at the university at the time the term of service begins. *Note: Effectively, a faculty member must be in <u>at least a third year</u> of service at the university for eligibility.*
- 3. For each elected faculty senator position, only members of the Corps of Instruction who are also members of the designated constituency of that elected faculty senator position are **eligible to vote**.
- 4. The **faculty of each College and the Library shall determine** a **constituency** and an **election procedure** for each elected faculty senator position apportioned to their respective academic unit, subject to the aforementioned eligibility criteria, term of service, and the voting eligibility criteria.
- 5. College Deans and the University Librarian shall ensure that
 - a. the aforementioned election procedure and specification of the constituencies from their respective academic unit are submitted in writing to the Executive Committee **NO LATER THAN DECEMBER 1** and
 - b. the elections within their unit are implemented according to unit procedures and the results are reported to the Executive Committee **NO LATER THAN FEBRUARY 1**.

CORPS OF INSTRUCTION LIST: To access the 2012-2013 Corps of Instruction List -- to determine eligibility to serve as an elected faculty senator and eligibility to vote for an elected faculty senator – point your favorite web browser to http://info.gcsu.edu/intranet/univ_senate//Elections_1314/Col_2012-13_FINAL.xls